UGC NET and JRF: How much Marks to Be Scored to Succeed

UGC NET and JRF: How much Marks to Be Scored to Succeed

Abiding to the Kerala HC Order: Which ordered the University Grants Commission to make UGC NET exam as the Merit Examination; the UGC has released the criteria for qualifying (succeeding) the UGC NET and JRF Exams. Notably, the Kerala HC has ordered the UGC to conduct NET and JRF exams as per minimum marks standard.

UGC has announced that the result of the upcoming UGC NET and JRF exam will be declared on the basis of these new criteria Guidelines).

UGC NET and JRF New Guidelines:

Under the new Guidelines, the UGC NET exam will be of 3 stages and UGC JRF will be of 4 stages.

First Stage: All the candidates will have to qualify the exam, by securing the minimum marks for their category.

Minimum marks (In First Three Papers) for each category are:

General: 40+40+50 Percent

OBC: 35+35+45

SC, ST and PH: 35+35+40

Second Stage: Subject-wise Merit List will be prepared. Different Merit Lists for Different Categories. The merit list will be prepared on the basis of the Total marks in all the three papers.

Third Stage: Top 15 percent candidates from the merit lists prepared in the 2nd stage will be declared Successful.

NOTE: Those OBC, SC, ST and PH candidates who come inside the General Category Cut-off, will be treated as General Category candidates.

Fourth Stage: Fourth Stage is for UGC JRF (UGC Junior Research Fellow). For this stage only those candidates will be considered who make to the List prepared in Stage 3. After that JRF will be awarded, based on age, seat availability in each subject.